Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Victory without Quarter 'Trotters'


A squadron of 'Trotters' pause to work out how to engage. Thanks to some kind members of this Blog I have figured out what to do when the situation arises again.

Trotters can either stop and fire with one unit card activation...or they can charge home with a card activation. They can't do both in the same turn.

I my game my unit pulled up to a halt and fired their pistols at short range, I couldn't see how to engage them after that. On their next activation card or officer card they could of attempted to charge home or fire again. As the melee damage (3D6) is greater than the pistol damage (2D6) it would make sense to rush them into close combat.

8 comments:

Adam Carriere said...

That fits the tactics of the day as I understand them assuming the infantry wasn't looking too solid that is.

Paul´s Bods said...

Sam Ple woz ere

Secundus said...

Paul I can't believe I have just tried the French graffiti artist Sam Ple... very good sir.

airbornegrove26 said...

That illustration is gold! LOL Glad you got the rules figured out.

nickw said...

That is beautiful. As the previous poster said - absolute gold!

Steve-the-Wargamer said...

If "melee damage (3D6) is greater than the pistol damage (2D6)", why would they ever want to stop and fire? Presumably there are other modifiers effects that come into play?

Secundus said...

I was thinking about that too, maybe it's because with pistols you can inflict damage on the enemy without them fighting back. In melee both units get to hack at each other.

Steve-the-Wargamer said...

That makes sense... so on the assumption each unit has one card in the deck (I don't know the rules well) you might change your mind based on whether the opposing gallopers have had their card or not....